My Reflection of PETA

In the 10th meeting, there was different from meeting before. Lets remember ! there were some students who came late to class,it was different from day usual. I did not know why it could happen .. I am sorry that I also came late to the class but I had asked for permission to Ms. Tika by Eki that I had to accompany my friend. I think that I am the last students who came late, but there were also students who came late. This is one of ineffective part in learning.

Class management could not be controlled, but learning process had to keep running. When I entered class, the class discussed about the article, I did not know about what. After that, I just got the article and it was about Nancy’s Experience. The next activities, Ms. Tika gave us the article again about DeVonne Experience. Then,we were asked to answer the question which is in this article. After that, Ms. Tika explained about assesment. Now, I know that assesment consist of 3 types, they are diagnostic, formative, and summative. The next slide, Ms. Tika gave us the picture of iceberg. We were asked to interpret the picture about the describe formative, and summative. Actually, I am still confused abut that. 😦

The next activites, students were divided into several group, one group consist of 3 person. Ms. Tika gave each group some vignettes. We were asked to match about which one is effective and ineffective assesment. Our group cooperate well, I were interested with this activities. After that, we equate our answer with Ms. Tika’s answer. Our group got 3 parts was wrong, because we were confused. But overall, its activities was fun and interested.

Titiah Dewi Masitoh
2009110024

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitriyani
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 01:18:38

    In the first article. the story tell about Nancy problem.
    Nancy fell afraid her student can’t pass the second term of assessment. Because in the first term, so many student can’t well perform.
    So, Nancy tray to make assessment that relate with the instructional activity and goal of instruction.
    From that story, we can learn from the Nancy experience about how to make a good assessment for student. the assessment should measure and appropriate with the student ability and goal of instruction. Because assessment not only to measure the cognitive, but also affective and student performance.
    I hope that can help you to understand the Nancy problem and something that we can learn from that.

    Reply

  2. Muhammad Zaenudin
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 02:01:56

    the Ice berg method, what comes to your mind first when Ms. Tika Gave the picture to you?
    Is it always effective when we just giving assessment in the end of learning (summative def.)?

    Reply

  3. titiahdewimasitoh
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 07:16:12

    oke, Fitri..
    thank you,,
    your comment a little bit help me to understand about Nancy Problem.

    Reply

  4. titiahdewimasitoh
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 09:00:15

    Zaen, the first time on my mind when Ms. Tika gave the picture that I only focus on the iceberg. there is two parts in iceberg, under and upper surface of iceberg, I think that summative assessment which upper surface of iceberg is visible and the other is not visible, I also didn’t know what its mean before..
    If we give assessment in the end of learning, it is not always effective depends on the objective of teacher.

    Reply

Leave a comment